Facebook Fast (Week 2)

I guessed the number of my notifications at the end of my fast to be at least 20 and I was right! Surprisingly, being away from Facebook did affect my life in a practical way, albeit minor. I was not able to call dibs on the event page on what to bring for my summer camp reunion, so I was left with the options of a veggie (or wedgie, as I say it) tray or a cheese and summer sausage platter, both of which are slightly more expensive than chips or drinks. Twice during the last two weeks of school, I found myself needing a picture which would be most easily accessible through Facebook albums and I was at a dead end when I realized I couldn’t get it that way.

Yet at the end of the day, the veggie tray ended up being an unintentional gift to Michelle’s mum because I left it in their fridge before leaving for the reunion (which already had more than enough food) and I got my photos anyway because I cheated and logged onto my sister’s account to retrieve the photos. I decided that using my sister’s account does not count because I was still cut off my Facebook world and, well, I really needed those photos immediately. I could have asked my sister to get them for me and e-mail them to me but I decided that that’s just superfluous. While I did get on Facebook twice during my fast, I did not violate the principle behind my fast which was to cut down distractions so I’m content.

During the later part of week 2, especially after I was done with my finals, I found myself looking forward to the end of my fast because I was curious to see what had taken place when I was away. I definitely missed it as the fast went on. However, going two weeks without it has definitely helped curb my ‘need’ to always check it and be up to date with the ‘world’. I am content with having easy connections with my friends and family when I’m away from them and I have definitely cut down on my obsessive news feed reading. Hopefully I grow into this habit. It is definitely going to take a lot of self-control and moderation.

Facebook has been feeding man’s craving for interaction with other human beings, which is great, but once it takes precedence over live interaction, it has gone awry and we should always take measures to set it back into its rightful position.

Leave a Reply

