Take me away

There’s something intrinsically magically about things falling from the sky. With the exception of hail and freezing rain because that just feels like sharp bits of glass attacking your face, something in me swells with joy when I hear a rumble of thunder, a flash of lightning followed by a faint waterfall and the sloshes of feet scurrying across the wet ground. It feels like the heavens are opening its arm, inviting me into its embrace and to run out barefoot for my toes to hug the rain in the clefts of my feet. It’s as if life is inviting you to open your arms, let loose and to draw in large breaths of fresh moist air. Rejuvenation.

Then there’s snow. The magical muffling silence it produces as it blankets the cars, the streets, the roofs and the land. Its bright whiteness which reflects all the way to the sky. Sparkling white expanses that look fluffy as a giant marshmallow – also inviting you to dive in and to allow its flakes to find its way through that tiny hole between your right thumb and index finger in your knit glove, reaching all the way to your heart. Of course, it also nips you nastily in the nose but a fresh snowfall with giant flakes that invites you to stick your face to the car window to make out its intricate designs is good enough of a reason to forget the bitter cold and simply revel in the magic of a winter wonderland.

I can’t wait for Christmas already!

4 thoughts on “Take me away

  1. “It feels like the heavens are opening its arm, inviting me into its embrace and to run out barefoot for my toes to hug the rain in the clefts of my feet.” I love this sentence!

Leave a Reply

