For Life

Only a little over a week’s time stand between me and the beginning of a new school year and here I am, at the familiar hour of midnight, still unable to make a decision as to what I want to do with this blog. I had started off the summer with this blog in mind, hoping to develop it throughout the summer. However, summer’s preoccupations took over and it’s end is imminent; yet this remains in its baby stages of development and I am still at quite a loss as to which direction I want this to take.

I wanted an avenue to share my works because sharing is such a big part of writing. I have been writing for as long as I can remember but  I also stopped sharing my writing on the internet a few years ago because paranoia took over. With that, my world of writing became increasingly self-centered; I only wrote about myself and stopped writing about the world that we live in. I think something in me started to rot then. While one of the primary reasons I write is to document my life and my thought processes, I also do it in hopes of making those who feel alone stop feeling that way because that is what reading has done for me. I want my writing to do what others’ writing has done to me – become a source of refuge and escape. Yet I hesitate due to fear. Every writer knows that sharing your writing with the world is a huge, bold step to take because it reveals the very core of the writer’s heart, which needs to be handled with great care. I don’t know about you but my experience with the human race is that they are usually very careless with things that break easily; and I don’t know if I want my heart to be in those hands.

I have come to the conclusion that I’m willing to take this chance because I write to live. I can have a broken heart and still live but I can’t not write and still live.

2 thoughts on “For Life

Leave a Reply

